All round advise

Leeds0915

I would like people to share their advise if they have been in a similar situation.

me and my partner are seriously considering the move to Melbourne. We are not married but have lived together for a few years. My partners brother lives in Melbourne and has done for some time. My partner is quantity surveyor which is on the skilled job list, I work in sales.

based on the above which visa should we apply for? Are we more attractive to employers if the visa is already in place?

We would only move if my partner was offered a job.

how long would you need to rent before you can apply for a mortgage?

we would also be bringing our medium size dog. What was people's experiences doing this? Did it affect your pet? Roughly how much does it cost?

many thanks

Hi Leeds

I can't help on all your questions (never tried to bring a dog), but I am sure others can help with this.

You are definitely more attractive to a broader range of employers if you already have a visa in place as it removes some hassle and potential cost for them. That said, some employers will clearly look to sponsor you (on a 457 visa) which is a temporary visa for up to 4 years. It can be extended or the employer can sponsor you (I think after 2 years) for a permanent visa.

457's are useful where you secure a job before you move over and this helps get you a visa in place.

I would seriously consider a 189 and a 190 visa. They are both permanent resident visa's, however the 190 is a state sponsored visa and you gain an extra 5 points in the EOI process for state sponsored. The important thing is you can submit two Expression of Intersts (EOI's) (for both visa's) and respond to the first that comes up.