Roof Plumber - 189 Visa

PomCop

Hi all,

I came across your forum after searching a few things on Google and I have to say, it's very good! There seems to be quite a few knowledgeable people on this forum.

In the next month or so, I intend of submitting my skills assessment to Trades Recognition Australia (TRA). My profession is Roof Plumbing & I have been doing this for 5 years now, but I can only probably document this for 3 3/4 years.

I've seen that gaining the skills assessment is one of the most difficult parts of the visa process. But another thing that worries me is the points for the visa. Let me break it down:

Age (21 years) - 25 points

English language ability - 20 points (should I get Grade 8 in IELTS)

Skilled employment - 5 points for 3 - 5 years

Qualifications - 10 points

Total: 60 points

For the 189 Skilled Independent Visa I need a minimum of 60 points, but I need to score a Grade 8 in IELTS to ensure I get those 20 points for my English Language Ability.

Can anyone advise me on the IELTS and how difficult it would be to achieve a Grade 8 in each module? I'm from England, UK and obviously a native English speaker. I intend on putting as much revision into the exam as possible.

I have also wondered if it is worth getting an agent to assist with my application? This would cost me just under £2k for the agent that I wish to use (good reviews and highly recommended) but, I have seen that a 189 visa is fairly straight forward if you read up on it.

I'm 21 years old, have no dependants or anything that would make the application more difficult.

Any hints and tips?

It's difficult to say how hard you'll find it to get a grade 8 in the IELTS, without knowing how good your reading/writing skills are. There's not a lot of wriggle room - I think 4 wrong answers in the reading or listening test will drop you to a 7.5, so you've got to be on your game.