any help?

Guest Vikki

Hi

I'm in my final year studying Engineering and I'm moving to Oz in July 2007 on a 'Work and Holiday' Visa to live with my Australian boyfriend with the hope of then staying on and getting residency. I couldn't apply for a de-facto has we don't have proof of living together for over 12 months.

What are the chances of a company willing to take on a new engineering graduate or me finding mechanical/maufacturing engineering work? I'm hoping to maybe have a job lined up for when I go out and if not I'll just have to job hunt out there. Just wondering if anyone might be able to offer me any advice.

Thanks

Vikki

Guest Fraser
....What are the chances of a company willing to take on a new engineering graduate or me finding mechanical/manufacturing engineering work?

Thanks

Vikki

Pretty good, I'd say, provided your grades are respectable. The issue is that you will nt get more than three months with most, as you are on a holiday / work Visa.

Start doing webseraches and getting your name out to companies in the places you want to visit.

hi Fraser,

I looked up the work and holiday visa info and there was something about you can now work for 6 months. Should I go to a recruitmenet agency or approach companies myself? I'm finding it hard at the moment because I won't know my grades until June.

I'm hoping to get residency if i then apply for a de-facto visa (i wil be living with my australian boyfriend) after my year in Oz or get sponsored by a company.

Guest spray21

Which part of Oz are you going to? I'm headed to Hunter Valley (north of Sydney) and when I do graduate job searches it seems to just come up with bloody engineering jobs! Which is no use to me! But might be good for you!!

Have a look on seek.com.au, see what sort of jobs there are.

Guest fatpom