help

bloomers

Hello! This is the first time I have posted so I am hoping I am doing this correctly! My husband and I are currently discussing the possibility of moving our family to Australia to live and work. I am struggling with where to start really and would be grateful for some pointers! I am a midwife and have completed the first assessment and now know that I have the possibility of 3 different types of visa. My next question would be do I try and find a job before applying for a visa or visa versa? Also my husbands brother and his family live there and have their citizenship already...would a sponsership from them be quicker? Help! Very confused.:chatterbox:

Hello and welcome.

I can't help on the visa front but we do have a couple of long standing thread for nurses that might be of use

http://www.pomsinoz.com/forum/jobs-careers/54239-nurses-questions-registrations.html

http://www.pomsinoz.com/forum/jobs-careers/54240-nurses-questions-what-you-might-need-immigration-paperwork.html

I'd think that there will be someone along soon with a reply re visa and so on as we have MW's posting on the forum :)

Good luck with it all.

My next question would be do I try and find a job before applying for a visa or visa versa? Also my husbands brother and his family live there and have their citizenship already...would a sponsership from them be quicker? Help! Very confused.:chatterbox:

If one of the visas you're eligible for is a 189 Independent visa, I believe you should wait until you've at least received an invitation and lodged a visa application before looking for a job. Before then, given the unknown time frame for getting a visa, employers will be far less likely to make a firm offer of employment. If you wait until you actually have a permanent visa in hand, it will get even easier to find work as you can nominate a firm date when you will be available to start.