smoggie89

Hello all newbie here , 24yr old single male currently living in Hull, my current job is a "Truckie" and I'm really interested in moving over to oz but I understand I could only go on a working visa with the job I do wich is a bummer!! Anyways some good reading on here I look forward to speaking to you lot more often, take care

Nathan

Hi Nathan,

You're 24 and single so you have lots of options.

The obvious one is a working holiday visa - this allows you to live and work in Australia for 12 months (& up to 24 if you do the required rural/agricultural work) in any job you can get - you can only work for 6 months for the same employer.

To get permanent residency you do need to pass a skills assessment in a trade or professional on the skilled occupation list http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/sol/ and I'm not sure where 'truckie' would fit in but you do not need to necessarily do that job once you get there.

If you don't have a skill on the lists then at 24 you're young enough to retrain - there may even be options to do so in Australia.

Just bear in mind any kind of temporary visa (whether a temporary work visa or a student visa) only allows you to stay for a while and there is no guaranteed route to PR - don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

If I was you'd I'd get yourself to Oz for two years and see how it works out from there.

BTW you said you live in Hull but noting your user name are you from the Boro originally?

Hi Nathan,

You're 24 and single so you have lots of options.

The obvious one is a working holiday visa - this allows you to live and work in Australia for 12 months (& up to 24 if you do the required rural/agricultural work) in any job you can get - you can only work for 6 months for the same employer.