Considering a move to OZ.!! Advice greatly welcomed !

Guest josiejo2007

Guest josiejo2007

Hi

I have recently joined this site as my hubbie and I are looking into possibly emigrating to Oz. I spend hours reading all the posts and wondering if we could be brave enough to make the move. I am a Primary school teacher, which is not on the SOL list. My hubbie is self-employed, focussing on property maintenance and wet plumbing- bathrooms etc. We have 3 children, 11, 9 and 3. As I said we are only considering our options at the moment,. We have had an initial assessment with a migration agent and he has told us there are ways to proceed. We have an appointment next week to see him in a personal consultation so I guess we will find out more then.

I was just wondering if there are any Primary teachers over there from the UK who have any advice for me. I have taught ages 4-7 for the past 17 years, and have been at my last school for 13 years. I am currently teaching in Y1 and I am also the Music co-ordinator and hold a middle management post for leader of KS1.All sounds good on paper, but I am wondering whether this would help in finding work. Is there much work for supply teachers as I have also heard that schools over there like to see you teach before you can find more permanent work.

Also, is there a preferable area for us to head to? All early questions, I know, but I would like to be ready with some information/ideas before we visit our agent next week.

Thanks for your help,

Josie Jo 2007

what i did as a mental health nurse was see what sort of money i could earn, i then looked at my partners earning potential as well as possible outgoings in OZ, shopping bills, electricity, child care, schooling, rent and buying and running cars and sorted it into a percentage of our overall income. for us it was less than what it was here in the uk. Financially it made sense.