Is it possible?

Guest Jem

Dear All,

Have just found this wonderful site and have already learnt much from reading the posts. Any advice on our situation would be greatly appreciated.

We have lived in France for 3½ years, renovating our property, living off our investments. We are now thinking of joining my brother, 20 years resident in Melbourne and an Aussie citizen who can sponser us if required.

My husband is a carpenter/joiner by trade. Does anyone know if the recent years of not working will be detrimental in having his skills approved?

The current plan is for husband to go visit brother for a few months and during that time, find an employer who will sponser him. Would that be a feasible way forward, bearing in mind the work gap?

Sorry if the questions seem very naive but we'd like to know if our dreams are founded on possibility.

Thanks in advance.

Jem.

Guest lotte

Hi,

I had to have work experience in my designated skill for 2 out of the 3 years directly prior to applying. My boyfriend had to have 12 months out of 18 months directly prior to applying. The length of work experience needed is related to whether your skill scores 50 or 60 points (I think!).We have Skilled Independent Regional Visas (granted 12th January) and we wouldn't have qualified if we did not have the relevant work experience. I think it is the same for the Skilled Independent Visa but I'm not sure about other ones.

Hope that is of some help!

• 1 month later...
Guest spiritguide

Hi,