Deciding which state to live?!

Guest jenny4nails

Guest jenny4nails

Hi there guys, I'm new to this forum, I'm hoping some of you can offer us some words of wisdom/experience.

Me and my husband (both mid-thirties, with no children) are just starting the process of applying for an independent skilled worker visa - husband has scored 120 pts - he's a bricklayer.

I'm a nail technician with 15 yrs experience but also have my qualifications in RSA II word processing and NVQ III - business/administration ....don't know if that'll be recognised in Australia?

We are researching which areas would be affordable for us and easier to find building work for my husband. Just wondering the availability of building work, which areas are saturated with builders (places to avoid...I'm guessing Sydney?!)

If my husband got a job as a builder and I worked part-time as a nail-tech or in an office, would this income give us a decent standard of living compared to the cost of living over there?

I am thinking the Perth area/suburbs (been there twice ...but this was 15 years ago!!!) But liked the feeling of the place - quiet suburbia, nice markets, beaches, coffee shops etc.

Me and my husband got married in Palm Cove QLD 2 years ago, and travelled from Cairns to Brisbane....my husband is thinking more Cairns area to relocate to? Although I really liked this area too, we didn't have that much time to look around the suburbs, we were there on our honeymoon and did touristy things and saw touristy places.

My concerns for this area would be the humidity and tropical-ness of the place....I thought about areas more south...towards Noosa/sunshine coast areas being a better place for us?.

We are hoping to bring £150,000 GBP with us, is this a realistic amount to have to set us up with a 2 or 3 bed home (didn't want a mortgage more than $100,000 AUD or £65,000 GBP) and to get us a decent car and get us started?

We are shipping over our sofas/bed/garden furniture as it's all brand new.