Skilled Sponsorship

Guest JC

Can anybody help? My husband and I have both been offered jobs in Perth. Our future employer has asked us to start the process with regards to Visas, however a few of the agents we have spoken to or emailed said they can't help. We have no idea how to get started? Can anyone suggest who could help? Also, does anyone know roughly how long it takes before you get an indication as to whether or not you'll get the visa. I have a degree and family in Oz but my husband has all the experience - who should be the first applicant?

Thank you in advance

JC :?

Hi Cath, thanks for your reply. We have already downloaded the relevant info from that site, but it was a bit depressing as it seemed as though we wouldn't qualify. We really want to use an agent and have contacted Go Matilda and are awaiting a reply. I think we'd be going down the employer skilled sponsorship route. Has anyone ever done this?

Feel like we're putting our lives on hold until we know if we will qualify or not!

Hi, well if you've got nowhere with the immi.gov site you could try having a look on http://www.pomsinperth.com you might find some help there. I seem to remember a posting a few weeks ago from someone who was going down the employer skilled sponsorship route and wanted some advise.

Cath

• 3 weeks later...

Hi, if you have been offered a job, then your future employer should nominate you for the employer sponsorship visa. All the information is on http://www.immi.gov.au. (see Employer Nominated scheme). Once you've been nominated and I think accepted then you have to lodge your application. I think it takes 16 weeks to process.

• 2 weeks later...