First driving offence...Help

Sydneytina

Hi,

On Friday morning, I was driving to the doctors appointment at around 8.30 AM and was following the GPS instructions where at one point, it instructed to turn right and I turned right without noticing the 'NO RIGHT TURN: 7.30AM-10.30AM' sign. A highway patrol car was waiting to welcome me and my first ever driving offense was registered. $200 fine and 2 demerit points.

I know it was really stupid of me to do that. In-spite of the GPS instructions, I should be looking all around. I'm so disappointed about my poor decision making.

When I explained to the officer that how I got confused by the GPS instructions and only noticed the sign when it was too late. He said, I could write a letter of appeal to waive off the fine because I've got a clean record.

I've been driving since 1995 (overseas) and from 2007 in Australia. Never ever had any trouble before with my driving anywhere.

When I called at the number mentioned at the back of the ticket. They said, overseas driving experience and clean record cannot be considered and I must be driving in Australia for the past 10 years with a clean record to be considered for a waiver.

I remember there were few threads earlier where just arrived UK migrants had written letter of appeal and it was taken into consideration. My overseas driving experience was not of UK if it makes a difference.

Can anyone please share their experience and guide me about what to write in the letter. I will really appreciate all yours help.

You have nothing to lose by writing the letter - admit guilt, remorse and explain about your previous (overseas) clean record. The worst they can do is say no. Meanwhile, welcome to the land where a minor motoring transgression will land you a bigger fine than punching someone in a bar.

Hi,