Social Worker

Guest Wendy Sparrow

Guest Wendy Sparrow

Hi

I'm hoping for some guidance re: my eligibility to work/live in Australia as a Social Worker. I have a Bsc Hons 3 year degree in Social Work (2008) with 4 years PQ full time employment. I have been in touch with the AASW (Australian Association of Social Workers) & a Visa Bureau. The Visa Bureau consider I could work as a Welfare Worker but not a Social Worker as my degree wasn't a 4 year degree. I have post qualifying training & will qualify as an Approved Mental Health Professional in July 2012 (AMHP) formerly known as an Approved Social Worker (ASW).

Many Thanks :)))

Hey Wendy

It's all quite confusing, lengthy and money spinning.

In short, and I can be more specific in a private message of you need me to be. Posts that we held in the UK as 'Social Worker' are not Social Work roles her in Aus. So, I was a safeguarding SW back in the UK - I too did a 3 year BSW. I am doing the same job here, but because i'm not a 'Social Worker' I'm a 'Protective Practitioner' I don't need to be assessed or registered with the AASW.

I don't know what the situation is in Mental Health here or if their is a AMHP equivalent.

The AASW will assess your Degree with 3 years PQ to make up for the 1 year short fall - they need to know the course content from your degree transcript. However, if it's not up to their standard then they won't registered you. It's over $800 to get your degree assessed.

Drew

Guest Wendy Sparrow

Hi Drew,

that's really helpful. I'm going to update my CV & submit to the Visa Bureau & see what they come back with. I don't really want to pay over $800 for a skills assessment. I hope you don't mind but could you tell me what the salary is like & what part of Australia you work. I'm looking at Perth or the Goldcoast? If you want to send a private message to explain in more detail thats fine. I'm relatively new this site so not sure how to go about sending a private message.

Many Thanks

Wendy