Converting UK Law Degree to Australia

Guest sophiella

Guest sophiella

Hey everyone - I just joined this forum haha so hello!:cute:

I'm a first year University student doing Law (LLB) and my plans are to move to Oz once I've graduated.

I fell in love with Australia ever since I lived in Perth for a short time when I was little & I have family there.

I've been told that there's a course that I could do to "convert" my studies from the UK Law to Australia - sort of like bridging the gap between the differences etc. My cousin in Perth suggested this course as an example:

http://courses.handbooks.uwa.edu.au/courses/c2/2035

On the entry requirements for the course it just mentions that I'd have to have a Bachelor degree in Law which I would have, so I was wondering if anyone on here has studied law in the UK and has gone this route to convert their course/study Oz modules? Am I reading the admissions requirements right in that I wouldn't need to study LPC to get onto the Grad Diploma?

Ideally, I'd like to move straight over and start converting asap after graduation - I see studying the Legal Practice Course in the UK would be a waste of time for me as I don't want to practice there!

I've also heard that if you study in Australia for 2 years or more you receive a Graduate visa - giving you an extra 18 months to gain relevant work experience in order to obtain a skilled visa/permanent residence. I'm kinda stumped because UWA say the Grad Diploma in Legal Practice is only 2-3 semesters! However I'm considering applying to study abroad in Australia (hopefully!) in my third year; if I combined the 18 month Grad Diploma and my year at Uni would they both count towards the two year study?

I'm so sorry for the essay and rambling on! I would greatly appreciate some advice on this because there's so many things flying round I'm so confused! :embarrassed: haha

Thank you so much !

Sophie :smile:

• 8 months later...

Hi.