Construction site manager nvq qualifications - advice

Hi All,

I'm new to this sight so hope I'm posting in the place I need to be posting!

My husband and I are looking at going over to Oz at some point and hopefully he can get sponsored by work as he is a Construction Site Manager (retail) here in the UK.

My question is, he currently has an NVQ 4 qualification in this field and he is looking at completing an NVQ6 this year, is this recognised in Australia? If not, what does he need to do?

Help, clueless!

Thanks so much...

Karen

Hi,

Not sure if I can offer much help here, but, my husband is Australian and is in Construction / Fit-out.

We are currently living in Scotland and he is completing his NVQ3. He is a carpenter/joiner (qualified in Australia) and we have ping ponged between Scotland and Sydney over the last 12 years...

In 2000 we moved to Scotland, where he worked as a joiner. When we returned to Australia in 2003 he got a job as a Site Manager (fit-out) in Sydney (he had no formal quals other than his carpentry/joiner cert from Australia and 10 odd years of experience). We then moved back to Scotland in 2008 and he got a job as a Contracts Manager and then a Project Manager. We are currently trying to sell our home in Scotland with a view to returning to Sydney sometime this year or next.

My husband is not sure if NVQ is recognised in Australia officially, however, every qualification helps. He's not sure if your husband could secure sponsorship from here, but I am sure if you went out there and he got a job he would then have no problem in getting sponsored once there. Good luck!