Can you apply for PR Visa without an agent?

ScottishMatilda

Hiya...

My hubby and I are in the early process of thinking about when to apply for PR. I have another 3 years of a course to complete first and we are trying to get the timing right to move around early 2015?

This might be a silly question, but do you have to have an agent processing your PR visa or can you do it yourself? I think we would be going for 176 visa, as my profession is on the SOL for most areas in Australia.

Any idea on timescales regarding when is best to apply and also whether we can do it independently and not pay massive agent fees? I am also wondering if I can apply before my course finishes given the skills assessment? I am thinking my skills won't be able to be recognised until the course is fully complete.

This is a complicated business...thanks folks

:biggrin:

Guest The Pom Queen

If your case is straight forward then there is nothing stopping you going it alone. Personally we still used an agent for peace of mind that was in the days of the 136 visa though.

Thanks for your reply 'MovingtoMelbourne'

Do lots of people do it alone then? Just seems such a complicated process and knowing where to start a bit tricky! Maybe there is a visa 'to do' list on here I should look at before asking so many questions.

Also, any ideas on if I can apply while still completing my course?

Thanks folks....

Hi,

we completed all our paperwork via an agent, yes they are expensive, but if you have the spare cash, it makes it easier, we do not have the time as we both work full time

we just email them questions all the time and they reply straight back, instead of searching forums or the website for the answer.

we did have a no visa no fee contract, but i guess theres no guarantee about anything these days

we went through visa bureau

they gave us some great advice

cheers steve