register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest WAintheUK

What to expect from relocation...

Guest WAintheUK

First of, apologies if this is the wrong place for this thread.

2 Years ago, I met my lovely Cornish girlfriend while working in WA, where i'd spent all my life. Never thought about moving to the UK before but we've talked and its something Im looking at, now im doing a bit of research on the actuals...

As I said, I was from Perth, grew up in the South West and now im in Tasmania.

I work in Construction/Project Managment, and enjoy Aussie Rules and Golf. Nothing too unusual really. Im obviously used to the pricing/marketing over here and grew up on Bunnings and Holdens, beaches and bars :wink:

But Im ready to move on and have had the itch and desire to 'spread my wings' (metaphorically speaking) for a little while now.

With the experience of both address's, I figured people who had left the UK, come to AUS and gone back might have a unique perspective on the idea!

Im open minded and can handle new new names for business's, different TV and the general changes, but are there a few major ones I might not realise until im there...

How differant IS the day to day life and around the town/village/suburb??

Would love any help you can provide, Thankyou! :smile:

First of, apologies if this is the wrong place for this thread.

2 Years ago, I met my lovely Cornish girlfriend while working in WA, where i'd spent all my life. Never thought about moving to the UK before but we've talked and its something Im looking at, now im doing a bit of research on the actuals...

As I said, I was from Perth, grew up in the South West and now im in Tasmania.

I work in Construction/Project Managment, and enjoy Aussie Rules and Golf. Nothing too unusual really. Im obviously used to the pricing/marketing over here and grew up on Bunnings and Holdens, beaches and bars :wink: