Processing times for a 457 visa as a nurse

paednurse

Hi guys,

I have recently received my AHPRA reg (slow painful process!). We are hoping to be in Australia (Queensland) next April/May (ish). We are putting our house on the market immediately after xmas and hoping for a fairly quick sale!

Im currently in talks with two hospitals who seem keen to interview me during their next recruitment drive which will be Jan/ Feb I believe. Both have said they can offer sponsorship.

My question is 'has anyone recently gone through the 457 process?'

How long does it take from beginning to end?

Just wondering if we are being unrealistic in hoping that we can come out by April/May?

Also I understand that as a nurse I need to have a full medical, but as my partner and two children will be on the visa too, will they need a modified medical?

Any experience on this would be appreciated!

:biggrin:

Thanks, Emma

x

Hi, just replying to you question of the 457 visa process. I am a midwife, yes the AHPRA process is very long. My 457 visa took about 6 weeks from employer lodging the application, then two days later I lodged my application and got all relevant bits together eg: medicals,health insurance, birth certs and the like. I was the only one needing the medical, husband and 3 children exempt. Medical cost £310 with x-ray. Hope this helps, pm me if I can help you further.

That's actually pretty quick!

Did you get your medical done before the visa process started? I'm thinking of booking this up anyhow in order to speed things up once I hopefully get sponsorship but not sure if this is possible.

Also being really blonde probably but cant find the specific tests that are required to work as a nurse? I'm guessing its an x ray, bloods (although not sure which ones) and a general mot??

Thanks again guys!

Hi Paednurse,