lauradarlin

Hi all

I'm new to PIO and looking at heading to Oz on a years working visa in July/August 2012. Can anyone offer any advice on the types of things I'll need to consider? I'm hoping to be able to spend a decent amount of time in each place I stay as I've already done some travelling around on a normal holiday visa this year.

I've come across conflicting info about how long you're allowed to work for each employer on this visa (3 or 6 mnths).

Also, I know nothing about the Australian equivalents of things such as tax, NI, NHS, driving licences, renting property, bank accounts etc so any advice on where to get started with my research would be fab!

Hi all

I'm new to PIO and looking at heading to Oz on a years working visa in July/August 2012. Can anyone offer any advice on the types of things I'll need to consider? I'm hoping to be able to spend a decent amount of time in each place I stay as I've already done some travelling around on a normal holiday visa this year.

I've come across conflicting info about how long you're allowed to work for each employer on this visa (3 or 6 mnths).

Also, I know nothing about the Australian equivalents of things such as tax, NI, NHS, driving licences, renting property, bank accounts etc so any advice on where to get started with my research would be fab!

HI there,

Its been a good few years since i was in Oz on a WHV (2003) but below is what i found in relation to your questions.

1. On a working holiday visa you don't need to convert your driving licence!

2. You will be granted a TFN (tax file number) for tax purposes. You need to apply for this when you get to Oz.

3.You will need seperate travel insurance as you are only a temporary visitor to Oz. There are loads of companies that supply this specifically for WHV 1 year policies!

4. You can open a bank account once you arrive in Oz on a WHV. Call into any of the banks and they will advise you as to what you need to set it up!