Social Work in Gold Coast/Brisbane

beatnik

I may well be moving to Australia next year with my wife, who is in the process of securing a job in Gold Coast.

I am a qualified social worker in England (qualified 7 years), and work in adult social care, and wondered whether there was many job opportunities in the Gold Coast? I am willing to do any social care jobs, including support worker, also be happy to work in mental health, for charities, drug and alcohol projects etc

Does anyone know if there is much of this work in GC? or will I need to travel to Brisbane for work? This will obvously have a bearing on where we live...

Any advice is gratefully received,

Thanks.

I may well be moving to Australia next year with my wife, who is in the process of securing a job in Gold Coast.

I am a qualified social worker in England (qualified 7 years), and work in adult social care, and wondered whether there was many job opportunities in the Gold Coast? I am willing to do any social care jobs, including support worker, also be happy to work in mental health, for charities, drug and alcohol projects etc

Does anyone know if there is much of this work in GC? or will I need to travel to Brisbane for work? This will obvously have a bearing on where we live...

Any advice is gratefully received,

Thanks.

Hey

Welcome to PIO I moved to the Gold Coast about a year ago and am loving it. I would suggest doing some research regarding how you register to be a social worker over here. I know of several people who have had to sit exams despite working in various fields in the UK for several years. These have included Physio's, Occupational Therapists, Electricians and Plumbers to name a few.