and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest slgk

Qualifying as an Australian Solicitor

Guest slgk

Hi there,

I only moved to Oz last week and so I am totally new to this forum!

I am an English qualified Solicitor (3PQE - civil litigation and conveyancing) and was wondering if anyone else is in the process of trying to cross qualifying and has any advice regarding the process and/or has any advice re the job market in Sydney and whether it is preferable to get a job in the first instance as a paralegal or an English qualified solicitor.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Sarah

If you have not already done so, speak to the NSW Law Society.

Good luck.

Best Newcomer 2013-14.

Guest Cooperclan
Hi there,

I only moved to Oz last week and so I am totally new to this forum!

I am an English qualified Solicitor (3PQE - civil litigation and conveyancing) and was wondering if anyone else is in the process of trying to cross qualifying and has any advice regarding the process and/or has any advice re the job market in Sydney and whether it is preferable to get a job in the first instance as a paralegal or an English qualified solicitor.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Sarah

Hi Sarah, I was just wondering if you got to Oz under the GSM route and if so was this as a solicitor?

Thanks Anne

Hello

I am in the same boat. I spoke to a recruiter and he said don't bother with qualifying again in oz. I have tried to research it myself but it is typically opaque. I'm 3 PQE financial regulation / corporate it's easier apparently the bigger the 'brands' you have worked for in the uk and obviously your area of expertise. If you have any insights, I'm on the plane next week! Let me know.

I'm keeping an eye on this as well. Scots qualified but in-house with a large aerospace company.