How long has it took you? And how much?

Guest Kristy

Hi Kirsty

The whole process for getting our 176 PR visa took about 6 months and cost about £2700. I think the time it takes might depend on which visa you are going for.

It seems to take ages to begin with and then no sooner have your medical you get your visa! Then you have to pay out more money to fly into Australia to validate it - but that's the fun bit :laugh:.

Good luck with your application if you decide to go for it, Natasha :spinny:

Hi again Kirsty! Forgot to say about first steps!

We used the Australian immigration page to check out the occupations in demand.

My husbands a teacher and I'm a social worker and they are both in demand so we knew we could apply.

There is an online check you can use which gives you an idea of whether you will be eligable.

I would check that your profession is on the occupations in demand list first and if it is, then go through the check list.

Best of luck :wink:

Guest SupportPants

I think probably around 3500 pounds for the visas, 2000 for flights, 2500 for shipping. Once here you need a run around car (unless in a city centre with public transport) 5000 AUD, 2000 deposit on a rental and 2000 month in advance. If you haven't a job lined up then about 2 months living expenses.

Our visa took about 11 months. Oh and then we had to fly offshore to validate it as we were already here.

Take a look at http://www.immi.gov.au/visawizard to start.

It cost us £3k to get the visa but that was DIY, using an agent will add around £1500 extra.

We are looking at shipping costs of £3-4k and flights (for 5) to be around £3k.

We started the process in April this year so 6 months ish time wise, but could have pushed it down to 4-5 months if we'd been in a hurry !

Justin:wink: