Ive had enough...i am resigning early on rsms 857.

Guest pommie1987

Guest pommie1987

ok here goes...i have been working for my current employer for 1 year and 5 months. 8 months of that has been on a RSMS 857 which is a permanent resident visa where i am obliged to work for my sponsoring employer for a period of 2 years from the date of my visa grant.

The area i am working in is extremely remote, i am not even on mainland australia. I have a long term partner on mainland australia. The plan was for him to move to where i am but my employer refused to let him move into the property i rent from her and with no other available accommodation on the island (and even if there was my wage doesnt cover the rent prices), we have been forced to live apart for the past year and 5 months.

I have finally hit a brick wall and i can no longer continue living in this situation. I think it is totally unreasonable for me to live apart from my now fiance...we want to start our life together, get married, start a family....but this is totally impossible with him living on mainland and me living on remote island community. what is meant to have been the happiest time of my live has been the most miserable and depressive and i want out.

So i am handing in my resignation tomorrow. I have no idea what the future will hold....what are the chances of my visa being revoked? I am aware my case with go to headquarters in Canberra...does anybody know how long this process takes before i get a response on my visa status.

Me and my partner also have a holiday booked at the beginning of next year....if i leave the country am i going to have difficulty getting back into austrailia if there is a decision pending on my visa status? Am i better off just cancelling the holiday of which i will get no refund but its not about the money its about my happiness.

Argh im so stressed but there is no point me being so sad anymore, i need to take some action.