Health Insurance for our visa

karabumble

Hi there, I'm pretty new to this, so if I get it wrong please bear with me :biggrin:

We are in the process of applying for our 457 visa, using a migration agent employed by the company who are sponsoring my hubby. In our pack of info which has been emailed is information to say that we need proof of health insurance as part of our visa.

Through this recruitment process we have been in touch with someone else who is also applying for his visa and he tells us that he has purchased a travel insurance policy to cover him for the short term period when he first arrives in Australia and that he will shop around for insurance when he is a bit more settled.

Can anyone tell me if this is possible - as the travel insurance policies that we have looked at only cover you for between 31 and 60 days (I would want to sort something more permanent than this to be honest). I have seen people say about insurance through HBA which they have sorted from home (UK).

Can anyone advise me as to what would be the best course of action. We want to try and get the paperwork right to ensure the process is as painless as possible.

Cheers, Kara.

Guest Karenphil67

Hi Kara,

We were granted our 457 two weeks ago and we had to get insurance before you get your visa issued. It was one of the conditions of the visa.

There appear to be lots of different types so look around but ours is costing about $170 per month.

I hope this helps

Karen

Hi Karen

Thanks for your reply. Could I ask, have you gone for full health insurance ie hospital, ambulance, extras etc? I had a brief look at HBA yesterday which gave me some idea.

I have also read other posts which say that as we are from the UK were are eligible for Medicare and just need ambulance insurance - do you/anyone else know whether this is right??

Cheers for any help - Kara

Guest Karenphil67

Hi Kara.

We have got Insurance that covers us for: