You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

MelbournePhom

457 Visa - Advice needed!

Hey everyone, glad I found this forum it looks useful.

I have been working in Australia since May 10th this year on a Work and Travel Visa (subclass 417) as Web Developer in the Melbourne CBD. I have a restriction on my Visa meaning I can only work for each employer for a maximum of 6 months, which means I can only work up until 9th November for my current employer.

I approached my boss about sponsorship of the 457 Visa, he was happy to sponsor me but it doesn't seem possible as I am a contractor and not technically "permanent" (although he said he would offer me a 1 year contract). I spoke to my contracting agency and they are not eligible to sponsor employees.

I now have 2 options, any advice would be greatly appreciated:

1. Find a way to stay at my current job and get a 457 Visa. Does anyone know if ANY contracting companies can offer 457 sponsorship, as mine can't.

2. Start looking for a new job. However I would only be interested in working for a new employer that could sponsor me for a 457 Visa. When do you think I should mention this to the potential employer? On my CV/cover letter or at the interview?

Cheers.

Sounds like you need to get a new job if the guys that you for at the minute won't give you a permanent role. Or else they need to offer you a permanent position, if they won't then you don't really owe them anything!

When I was applying for jobs in Sydney I was saying on my cover letter that I was looking to get sponsored. If you have been working in your last job for 6 months then I imagine that you are fairly decent at it and getting a similar role will be easy enough, just say you are looking sponsored.

:) Let me know how you get on.