register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest Andy Nicholls

Regional sponsorship visa

Guest Andy Nicholls

Hi everyone, my missus has just been offered a regional sponsorship visa. She's a midwife by profession, and was offered a hospital position in Bunbury, about 100 mile south of perth, just the area we were looking to go to! I'm 46 and an IT field service engineer, does not look as if I'll have any trouble getting work.

Does anybody know of any disadvantages of the sponsorship visa?

All seems a bit too good to be true! Or is it years of being in the UK making me cynical?!

And yes it is raining!!:smile:

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Andy

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

You really need to read up about the RSMS visa for yourselves, I would suggest.

Please see the link below and make sure that you download and study Booklet 5 as well, I suggest:

Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (Subclass 119/857)

The alternative route to PR in Oz via Employer Sponsorship would be the ENS visa, and you should compare the two:

Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 121/856)

At a quick glance (and bearing in mind that I am NOT an expert on these visas) the striking difference seems to be that the RSMS visa ties the employee to the employer for 2 years but the ENS visa does not.

Obviously, the hozzy want to get your wife out to Oz quickly but as a midwife, she has an occupation which is more than slightly in demand all over Australia. If she is under 425 and you can get the right number of points together, a Skilled Independent subclass 175 visa could be an option instead. Please see here:

Professionals and other Skilled Migrants - Workers - Visas & Immigration