Guest CazRoma3210

The Graduate Teacher Issue

Guest CazRoma3210

Hello there, I am hoping someone can help me. :)

I am desperate to move to Australia from the UK asap- yet cannot find a route as yet.

I am a primary school teacher who gained qualified teacher status via the graduate teacher programme which Australia does not accept for a skilled visa. (I have just had my skills assessment turned down on this basis , as I was wrongly advised on this issue.) (I have been teaching nearly 10 years in the UK)

So I need another route into Australia but am not sure how to progress, as so far advice has been contradictory.

I have been told there is no qualification I can do in th UK to rectify this GTP issue by the Teaching boards in the UK. (I cannot complete a PGCE for example as I already have qualified teacher status in the UK.)

I have also been advised that no visa for Australia that will accept GTP- is this true? Some agents suggest the 457 will accept GTP whilst others say 457 will not accept GTP. I am confused-does anyone know or have any experience of this?

I have also been told that I can retrain as a teacher in Australia and pay international fees of $19,500 per year at an Australian University to gain Australia recognised qualified teacher status. If this is my only option I will do this, however it is a great deal of money and I need to be sure that a more permanent visa will open up for me afterwards. Some advice has suggested that the year course I have been offered to train on- for which I would only need a student visa of one year- will not then entitle me to apply for a permanent skilled visa or 457 afterwards? Some have suggested that to apply for a skilled visa after the year course would be impossible and that I must undertake at least a two year course and apply for a two year visa as only this option will then lead to a skilled or 457 visa route for me.