Advice please on bringing my dog to Oz?

Kathie

Hi, this is my first time on a site like this, so please make allowances...

I am hoping that someone may be able to recommend a company which will bring my golden retriever safely to Sydney from the UK, preferably Manchester. The web sites read well but if anyone has first hand experience it would be much appreciated. Thank you x

Hello and welcome

Try using the search function and throw in something like 'pet shippers, dog' or 'pet shipping, dog' and see what comes back. Or have a look back through other threads on shipping dogs. There are a fair few recommendations in other threads that might help.

FWIW, if you find one you are considering pop in here and post to ask about them before you go further and book. Or do a search for that particular company and see what is said. There are a fair few that people generally speak highly of.

Get a number of quotes and don't just pick the cheapest because its the cheapest. Pick what you feel is the best one for your dog.

One thing to look at is the size of the container they're quoting for - much of the airfreight cost is based upon volume, and I found that some of the cheapest quotes were for smaller kennels.

Plus do they meet you at the airport or leave you to it? Do you need someone to hold your hand or are you happy to sort stuff out yourself?

I've got Satch's kennel now, and have inspected it thoroughly - I think it needs a bit more finishing off to be safe for her (just a bit of sanding and sprucing up)

Plus I'm going to add

- some padding around the walls to keep her safer if there's turbulence - I've got a Yoga mat that's pretty much never been used, figure I'll cut it up and attach it to the walls.

- a proper vetbed and puppy pads rather than just the shredded newspaper they supplied to keep her out of her own wee!

But i'm happy to finish this stuff off myself anyway. The kennel itself is nice and solid which is the important thing!