short term rental for when we land

crosbyx4

we are due to arrive in melbourne 23rd Oct and i have been looking for a short term rental / holiday appartment type property for our inital weeks whilst looking for something more permanent ........ will be working in knox area can anyone recommend anywhere please :cool:

thank you I have looked on STAYZ but will check out realholidays now ! everything seems really expensive ........ i was thinking aroung 600 -700 for a 2 bedroom (2ad 2ch) but all prices are coming back at 900+++ in your opinion what is reasonable?

I think Melb is dearer than Adelaide in general isnt it?im no expert tbh,but we found plenty around the 4/500 mark tho,that was for april/may 09,good luck

Guest audabech

Hi this has been helpful. We family of 5, twin boys (3) and girl (1) arriving 18th Sept. Looks promising for a job for husband in Bayswater, he is willing to travel up to 50kms to work. Will look up these sites for temp accomodation on arrival. Advice on safe family orientated suburbs, looking at the Eastern suburbs I think. Needing childcare/playschools/nursery advise.

Cheers

if you're working in Knox you could look at anything around that area. it you're relying on PT (or only having one car) check out the public transport maps at http://www.viclink.com.au

I love the hills so am biased - Ferntree Gully has great links and shopping, Belgrave etc. Plus you're right at the foot of the Dandenong Ranges which are gorgeous :)

I just got thinking, and remebered where we originally stayed on arrival for the first 7 weeks :sad: http://www.katrinalodge.com.au/ when we first arrived. That was 4 years ago & we paid $700 p.w. ! at the time. It's just past Belgrave in the ranges.

Gary & Carmel were the owners at the time, but they have since sold it and I have heard that the prices are now much cheaper, but can only find this old website.

Maybe send them an email.