You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest wwnde

How do I land a job while still abroad? Any experiences?

Guest wwnde

I have seven years experience as a spatial scientist. I was granted a pr in june and plan to arrive in Australia in December. I have tried applying for jobs and apart from two recruitmentt agencies who want me to notify them a couple of weeks before I arrive no employer has ever come back to me. Will I be more easily accepted if I apply for trainee positions? Must I arrive in Australia first for me to get a job? What works?.... making calls, sending resumes or phisically visiting potential employers? Any experiences?

Seek

Thats what worked for me.. I'm an Environmental Scientist..

put my profile on Seek.. had people ask to see my CV.. one of them liked what they saw.. 2 telephone interviews later.. a job offer was made.

Once you get here ( I'm in Perth) then... certainly in my field, you get offers comming out of the woodwork ( i have had another request today to speak to someone...:wink:)

I wasnt asked to take a grade cut.. still working at a similar level..but i suspect that i might have had to consider it if i was on a more tight deadline

hope it all works out

Six it

Guest wwnde
Seek

put my profile on Seek.. had people ask to see my CV.. one of them liked what they saw.. 2 telephone interviews later.. a job offer was made.

Once you get here ( I'm in Perth) then... certainly in my field, you get offers comming out of the woodwork ( i have had another request today to speak to someone...:wink:)

I wasnt asked to take a grade cut.. still working at a similar level..but i suspect that i might have had to consider it if i was on a more tight deadline

hope it all works out

Six it

thanks