Looking for friends in the Lower Hunter Valley

Guest MarcandSarah

Guest MarcandSarah

Hi,

My partner and I have just received visa approval today (yay!) and are headed to the /Singleton / Maitland area in the next 6 weeks. The OH will be working in the mines and i'll be doing a bit of work from home and as we don't have any children I don't want to be rattling around the house all day! We are both looking to meet new people when we arrive so it would be great to hear from anyone who is on their way or already settled in this region of NSW.

We're both from Staffordshire, almost 27 and frightened to death at the thought of being all alone in such a huge place so any help, advice or the chance to meet up for a glass of wine would be wonderful.

Thanks,

Sarah

hi sarah,

we are heading over to thornton (near maitland) in october. av got an advantage as most of my family are already living there. We are mid 30s with a 4 year old daughter. I am a midwife, and oh is a boilermaker so may have to go working away to earn anything half decent.

when do you hope to get there.

cheers nicola

Guest MarcandSarah
hi sarah,

we are heading over to thornton (near maitland) in october. av got an advantage as most of my family are already living there. We are mid 30s with a 4 year old daughter. I am a midwife, and oh is a boilermaker so may have to go working away to earn anything half decent.

when do you hope to get there.

cheers nicola

Hi Nicola,

We are probably looking at around 6 to 8 weeks before we actually get there so i'm thinking early to mid September at the latest. I work in Marketing & PR and Marc has got a job as a heavy plant fitter with Hitachi so it's possible that he may have to work away at some point too.

We are both 26 and from Staffordshire, we don't have any children at the moment but if we settle in Australia who knows!

Sarah

Guest MarcandSarah