Nursing pay scales-queensland??

fluxsta

Hi all,

I have received my employment details and it lists the pay scale and says that I can get info online about the Queensland Nurses Union Enterprise Agreement and pay scales for nurses. This trade union requires me to join to access the info? Does anyone have a link to info about the payscales in plain English, laymans terms so I can see the structure as it is proving to be a bugger to find any info!

Thanks

Guest guest36187

I'm in elderly care, not in hospitals. I was paid at level 1.4 at first. Now I am a clinical nurse at level 2.2

Different in our sector I think

Guest guest30038
Healthscope Pine Rivers. I am waiting for reply from them as i think there was a typo in letter? It says employed as RN Level 1 Grade 8, but paid as Level 1 Grade 5? What are your thoughts?

Thanks

Hiya mate, this is Qld health pay scales but I'm not conversant with the agreements covering the private sector.

Grade 8 could relate to the first year of qualifying/employment/re-entry (incremental) and grade 5 could mean increment 5.........ie you get an annual yearly increment increase in wage for 8 yrs. So, if you'd been employed in that position for 5 yrs you'd have had 5 incremental increases in wage over and above the annual wage increase award...........it's a (financial) recognition of your years (of) experience.

The above is often negotiable, particularly in the private sector in that you may have 6 years experience in the UK but they start you off in year zero (so to speak) in Oz. In Bridget's case, in the public sector, she was lucky in that she had a good work record and interviewed well so she was initially employed grade (increment) 5, recognising her 6 years UK experience

It sounds to me that you may be being offered the same (hopefully) but if you haven't got those years of experience, someone may be cocking up in admin...........I sincerely hope not mate. You deserve a good start.