Advice for telephone Interview for registered nurse post in Sydney! Advice needed!

paednurse

Hi,

This is my first time posting on here so I'm hoping it actually works!

My family and I are currently in the early stages of doing the 'big move!' I am a senior paediatric nurse in an Emergency Department in the South of England and am hoping to continue in this career path in OZ. Our first choice to settle was Queensland, Brisbane or Sunshine Coast areas. I have sent my CV and cover letter to several children's hospitals including Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne to see whether I would even get any interest!

So far I have heard back from Sydney and have been offered a telephone interview!!! I am really unsure as to what they might ask me, apparently I will be speaking to 3 nurse managers throughout the hospital including the ED manager!

Any suggestions on how I can best prepare for this would be very much appreciated! I have never had a telephone interview before and am really not looking forward to it!!

I'm also unsure whether to accept a job offer (if I actually get offered one!) because I have always had my heart set on Queensland, due to being cheaper cost of living, climate, beaches etc. Im also hoping for a sponsorship from the hospital and I know we will have to pay education fees for our 5 year old if we go to NSW!!

I have heard rumours that Queensland has put a bit of a freeze on overseas recruitment and especially on sponsorships???

Decisions, decsisions!! Any advice would be very much appreciated!!

Thanks x

• 3 weeks later...
Guest The Pom Queen

Hi and welcome to PIO, sorry I missed your post, sometimes there are soooo many come through that ones get overlooked.

Have you had your interview yet, fingers crossed.

Kate

Hi there,