and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest Andy

Have you ever thought of re training?

Guest Andy

Afternoon everybody,

I have been thinking a lot recently about maybe re training for another career not sure exactly what but i certainly have a few ideas, i am a builder and over the last few years have been getting a bit disillusioned with it all for various reasons, for example there are to many builders fighting over the same jobs at the moment and i cant see that changing for a long time, also the massive influx of foreign workers has really had a big affect on buisness ( but thats another argument for another day ) and thats without the massive amount of paperwork and elf n safety ( beurocracy ) involved.

Not only all of the above but i am knocking on a bit (40 this year) and i dont think physically i could do what i now do until retirement age.

Obviously i will have to take moving to oz ( if we do ) into consideration and if i could re train over there.

So basically have any of you guys got to a certain age and decided you wanted a change, what have you done about it, and was it a succesful transition, also anyone out there feel like me about your respective career?:unsure:

Guest guest37336
Afternoon everybody,

I have been thinking a lot recently about maybe re training for another career not sure exactly what but i certainly have a few ideas, i am a builder and over the last few years have been getting a bit disillusioned with it all for various reasons, for example there are to many builders fighting over the same jobs at the moment and i cant see that changing for a long time, also the massive influx of foreign workers has really had a big affect on buisness ( but thats another argument for another day ) and thats without the massive amount of paperwork and elf n safety ( beurocracy ) involved.