UK Architect move to Australia

dundeeboi82

Hi Everyone,

Firstly, I'm a newbie who's spent the last week or so trawling the forums and have been amazed at the amount of information. We're looking for a bit of advice, and I suppose a bit of reassurance that we're heading along the right path!!

I'm 28 years old and a fully qualified Architect in the UK with 3.5 years post part-3 experience. My same-sex partner, who is 31, works in I.T. and has about 15 years experience in the industry, but no formal tertiary qualifications. We've been together for over 11 years (living together for the past 10 or so). We're looking to emigrate to Melbourne, or at least that area/state so first question is, what's the architecture and IT sectors like there at the moment?

From what I've seen, the 'Skilled - Independent - Migrant (subclass 175) visa' seems to be the only one available that doesn't require some form of sponsorship, and should allow me to include my partner on the application. Am I correct that the total visa fee would be $AUD 2,575, and that the second installment mentioned isn't applicable? I cannot see any additional fee for including a partner? What timescales are people experiencing, and any idea what priority Architects are getting? Is it worth boosting your points total by sitting the additional English test, or is the standard 15 for holding a British Passport working for most? Anything else that's worth knowing?