Trade Recognition Australia...how long?

Guest thekelbos

Guest thekelbos

Hi,

has anybody completed an assessment with TRA? My husband although a Quality Engineer here (Mechanical Engineer Apprenticeship served), he is classed as a Mechanical Engineer Technician I think in Australia. He'll be submitting paperwork today or tomorrow.

Was just wondering on timescale for completion. We want to get moving for application for SS WA so we can get our 176 visa application in asap.

Hi,

In the same boat as you I'm afraid. My OH passed AQF as he had no formal qualifications, (trained old school on the job). We are self employed and waiting for a letter from our accountant to confirm a period of self employment, and a letter from the company who has hired us for the last ten years. We are using a migration agent who said it takes around 4 weeks, although looking at the statistics of other members on this site some have got the thumbs up sooner.

Hi,

Our agent said it's around 4 weeks. In the same boat as you, OH just passed AQF so we are frantic trying to gather all the information we need for the TRA. We are self employed so we need to prove our business to the TRA. Just waiting for a letter from our main contractor to prove we have been in continuous work and one from our accountant :arghh:to prove we really are a business and then we can send it all off. I looked at some of the members stats on this site, it looks like some have completed the TRA in less time.

We really need to submit the Visa application before the July changes, as I heard that an AQF qualification done offshore may stop being valid.

Guest thekelbos

I hope so. Just find it all very confusing! My DH trained on the job and has almost 15yrs experience as an engineer but isn't classed as one in Australia as he has no degree. It took us 12mths to figure out which assessment board he needed to go through, as we kept getting told different things. So decided to do it ourselves.