How do you know what Category you're in?? and other questions

Guest RobynT84

Guest RobynT84

Hi All,

I'm very new to this so please forgive me if this question has been asked (and answered!) many times before. I did search first.

My husband and I have just signed the contract with our agent and are beginning the process.. Yippee!:jiggy:

I have done a great deal of research and am learning a lot but I have recently read a few posts on here where people are commenting on the category they are in. My husband is applying for a 176 as an Urban & Regional Planner and try as I might I have been unable to find a list of skills/jobs and their associated category... any advise would be appreciated.

Also, I have looked through a few timelines and the I'm baffled! There are people who have been waiting since 2008 who have only just been granted their visa, and others who applied early last year and are expecting their visa any day now.... so confusing! Although I know I should not expect a quick turn around, when you read of people waiting only a year it's hard not to hope for the same!

Please feel free to bring me down to earth!

Thanks

Robyn

Urban and Regional Planner is on Victoria's SMP so if you are granted the sponsorship and apply for a 176 with it, you will be category 2.

If you were to go for a 175 independent visa, cat 2 doesn't apply to independent visas, so in that case, you would be cat 3.

Regarding the wide variations in timelines...