IELTS rant

nic0218

:mad: Just wanted to have a good rant about IELTS, (since my poor husband has put up with it for last few hours!!)

Yesterday I was merrily talking to my agent about putting in my SA SS application. I got paperwork together, I was finally beginning to get there.. And then I got my IELTS test results. Before I tell you my results, let me explain that I'm a primary school teacher, have already had my teaching credentials certified by Teaching Aus & English is my 1st language. I scored 9.0 on reading, listening, speaking, but lo and behold.. 6.5 on writing. I need 7.0 on each band. To say I'm gutted is an understatement!

I could get the writing remarked, but that could take 8 weeks, & my mark could stay the same. So, I've now got to scramble around to get another test as quickly as possible, fork out more money & wait another 2 weeks. I can see my hopes of state sponsorship fading, especially if SA reach their required numbers before I can get my application in.

Sorry for having a good moan, but I find it unbelievable that people's futures are reliant on a test, that seems to be so unreliable!!!:arghh:

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I know how you feel, I failed 2 on the reading then my 3rd on the writing but got it remarked and made from a 6.5 to a 7.5. Wasted nearly 6 months on this test then it was too late for us to apply for WA due to visa changes so applied to SA instead. Dont worry there have been plenty of rants on here about the ielts and im sure there will be more.

Lisa

:mad: Just wanted to have a good rant about IELTS, (since my poor husband has put up with it for last few hours!!)