How easy is it to find a sponsor?

Guest Ali J

Hi guys I am new to the forum!!

My family and I (husband and 2 boys aged 13 and 15) are currently looking to better our lives, from hum drum in the UK to bright and sunny in Oz, my husband is 50 this year so we woul need to come over through me, I am 38, I train horses for a living and having spoken to an agent understand that if I fnd employment I can come over on a 457 visa, but I would need sponsorship - he said that it wouldnt be a problem if I offer to pay for the sponsorship process and could be quite straightforward.

He said basically I find a job and get on a plane then contact him and he would take care of all of the paperwork - for a fee of course, I have no problem with this but how realistic is this, my family and I are just looking to make the most of the time we have working left and looking for a brigher future for our boys, we arent planning to do this until possibly next summer.

Any advice would be very much appreciated!! Am I really just thinking pie in the sky or is this really do-able!!

Any advice good or bad!!

thanks

Ali j

I don't know what agent you have spoken to but I recommend you find another one. It is really not a good idea to find a job, jump on a plane and *then* look into the paperwork.

The other thing you need to note is that the 457 visa you have been told about is temporary visa and there is no automatic pathway to permanent residency. Your post suggests you want PR, so you need to find out how you will get that. I vaguely recall seeing another horse trainer being employer sponsored for PR but I could be wrong. It is something you definitely need to look into. Do a search for SOL and check schedules 3 and 4 and also look at the ENSOL and see if your occupation is on any list. If it is only on the 457 list then you are not eligible for PR visas.