What counts as regional work for 2nd WHV?

Guest sdpd

Hi all

Just wondered if you could shed some light on "regional work" for me please. We haven't even arrived in Oz on our 1st WHV yet but we're thinking that if it's as good as everyone says it is we will probably want to get a 2nd WHV! I know you have to complete 3 months regional work but just wanted to clarify exactly what this means? I suppose the obvious stuff is fruit-picking, working on a farm etc but do other jobs count as well if they are undertaken outside of the city? Where exactly is "regional Australia"?!! For example, my boyfriend has seen ads for carpentry work with regional work available so I take it that qualifies? As for me, I'm an accountant...is there any chance I can work as an accountant in some area of Australia that qualifies as "regional"?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Definition of specified work

Specified work is any type of work described in the list below:

• plant and animal cultivation
    • cultivating or propagating plants, fungi or their products or parts
    • general maintenance crop work
    • harvesting and/or packing fruit and vegetable crops
    • immediate processing of animal products including shearing, butchery in an abattoir, packing and tanning
      Note: Secondary processing of animal products, such as small goods processing and retail butchery is not eligible
    • immediate processing of plant products
    • maintaining animals for the purpose of selling them or their bodily produce, including natural increase
    • manufacturing dairy produce from raw material
    • pruning and trimming vines and trees.

[*]fishing and pearling

• conducting operations relating directly to taking or catching fish and other aquatic species
    • conducting operations relating directly to taking or culturing pearls or pearl shell.

[*]tree farming and felling

• felling trees in a plantation or forest