Poor student wanting to move - is it realistic?

Guest Mark g

Hi all!

I am 21 years old and in my final year at uni studying Accounting and financial management here in England.

Being a student I have built up fairly large debt I will need to pay off once (or if) i'm lucky enough to find a job! I have little cash in my bank accounts apart from a few savings I made when I was younger.

I have recently applied for Australian citizenship as my Dad was born in Australia. Assuming my citizenship goes through - fingers crossed, I will then be eligible to apply for a passport.

I was wondering if anyone could point out or offer some guidance on what the next step I should make to be able to work and live in Oz?

Also with my financial situation as it is, do you think me moving to Oz is realistic or am I getting excited about something which is unlikely to happen?

Any views and thoughts would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Mark

I would wait and see if you are given citizenship before committing to anything. I assume you have checked out the migration website and have an application in the pipeline. Which part of Australia were you thinking of? I imagine there would be more work in the Eastern capitals.

If you can get yourself an australian passport, then once you've saved enough for the airfare, you'd effectively be in the same boat over here as in the UK. i.e. needing to find work, probably needing to move and find accommodation near that work, and basically building up a new life from scratch, in a new town, needing new local friends, it's what everyone goes through when leaving Uni. I would say it's probably easier to make the move now, than in a few years time once you've already established yourself somewhere, and then uprooting yourself and doing it all again.

Differences would mainly be:

- distance from and cost to visit family and friends (Skype is your best friend for dealing with this)

- cost of a one way flight to australia