Lake Macquarie East

Guest km75

Hello,

I am new to the forum, so hope it's ok to jump straight in...

My husband and I, and our two children (currently ages four and two), hope to move out to Australia in 2012 or 2013. My husband is Australian, and me and the kids have dual citizenship.

Previously we lived in Freshwater, Sydney (2003-2008) for four years which we loved, but now with two kids in tow we can't afford it, so we're considering a move to Lake Macquarie East, thinking perhaps around Caves Beach or Valentines - we want to be near the water, be it lake or beach. Just wondered if any of you were from around that way, and have any opinions as to the best suburbs and schools in the area.

My husband is a project manager (refurbishment) and I work in Insurance; whilst we know jobs and salaries would be more plentiful in Sydney we just fancy the lifestyle of Newcastle area.

Would appreciate any opinions on the suburbs, area and schools.

Thanks,

Katrina

Guest The Ropey HOFF

sorry i don't know the answer to this, i have replied so that someone might read this and give you an answer, best of luck.

Hi Katrina

We moved to Lake Maquarie from London a couple of months ago and we really like it. We never considered Sydney as we left London to escape the exorbitant rents.

Pretty much, the whole east side of the Lake is a good place to live, we also have 2 children (ages 1 and 3)

Caves beach and Valentine are nice, we are at Warners Bay at the moment which is really nice. Belmont, Eleebana and Speers Point are good places to raise children aswell and right next to the lake.

We are renting now, but when we buy we will look in the Swansea/Blacksmiths area as you are so close to both the Lake and the beach and the prices are the most reasonable on that side of the lake.

All the schools seem fine to us and all of a good standard.

Feel free to send me a message if you need any further information about the area.

Richard