Australia secondary school education system vs your country ?

Cedric

Hi there,

this tread is not intended to be polemical. I am a biology teacher in a secondary school willing to migrate to Australia. As such, I am interested to find out about the australian school system and the way it can be compared or distinguished from other systems.

According to PISA standards, Australia stands above the OECD average for student performance in mathematics ( Error[]=&regions[]=&indicator=1&domain=1&95conf=on&mid90percent=on&meanMale=on&meanFemale=on&oecdAv=on&sortOrder=mean&1_options=true&theme=1&cmd=storeGraphRequest&requestid=1291803140055&items=2&)

However, looking at the Naplan test 2010 for year 9, I was struck by the level of the questions asked in the numeracy test which seemed to me to be very easy for kids 13-14 of age. (http://www.naplan.edu.au/verve/_resources/nap10_numeracy_9_calc.pdf) :chatterbox:.

Am I missing something ? How would you compare the australian school system versus the one of your country ?

Cheers,

Hi there,

this tread is not intended to be polemical. I am a biology teacher in a secondary school willing to migrate to Australia. As such, I am interested to find out about the australian school system and the way it can be compared or distinguished from other systems.

According to PISA standards, Australia stands above the OECD average for student performance in mathematics ( Error[]=&regions[]=&indicator=1&domain=1&95conf=on&mid90percent=on&meanMale=on&meanFemale=on&oecdAv=on&sortOrder=mean&1_options=true&theme=1&cmd=storeGraphRequest&requestid=1291803140055&items=2&)

However, looking at the Naplan test 2010 for year 9, I was struck by the level of the questions asked in the numeracy test which seemed to me to be very easy for kids 13-14 of age. (http://www.naplan.edu.au/verve/_resources/nap10_numeracy_9_calc.pdf) :chatterbox:.

Am I missing something ? How would you compare the australian school system versus the one of your country ?