Becoming a midwife in australia, without previously been a nurse

Sanders

Hi Everyone

I am seriously hoping someone can help me with this.....

Me and my family already have our state sponsored visa, on my partners quals.

We were lookin to be movng this year , i decided last year that i would like to change my career path so the situation really is do i train here in the uk or wait til i am in australia.

I have already passed an access programme which is equivalent to a levels but not sure if this is accepted in australia????

I have tried to contact a couple of universitys in oz however the reply i have had is i need to apply before they will advise on my qualifications etc.

ALso does anyone know a rough costing of training to be a midwife in australia??

Thank you in advance for any help!!!

Hi,

I am currently in my second year training as a midwife, I was never a nurse and also got in via my access.

Not sure is Oz takes the access course as i have never looked into this, but I did look at training my final year in oz. Felt it would be good as get to know the system over there and also build up some contacts so hopefully be able to get a job when finished.

Not sure what visa you are on but if not PR then very expensive, think it was around $25,000 per year for international students!

There is a link below re another post I answered this is for nursing in Queensland (sorry not sure where you are wanting to go ) but if you look on the website they also do midwifery.

I am now staying in the UK until I have finished and then hoping to get a grad midwifery place for 1 year, which is like what we do here.

Good luck if you need any more info/help just ask.

Tina x

Bachelor of Nursing - Courses and Programs - The University of Queensland, Australia

• 2 months later...
Guest murphmk

Hi Family of five,