UK National Lottery in Australia

ozziepom

Hi,

I've still got my UK Lottery online account being paid by Direct Debit, and today I got the "you've won a prize" email. I can't log into the account at the moment, because it says "we think you're abroad (no kidding)".

Since I have a UK VPN account accessible from home (not work!!) that I use for watching iPlayer and playing Spotify I will be able to log in later but does anyone know the legal position of playing the Nat Lottery while living in Australia, not much point paying them if they're not going to pay out if I ever get a decent win?

Thanks,

Guest Guest31881

Hi,

If you live in Australia, you cannot play the UK national Lottery. so if you have won a big prize, jump on a plane and claim it from the UK:wink:

• 10 months later...
Guest Roxade

Hi there,

Just wanted to let everyone know that I've been playing the UK Lottery online for just over 6 years now (outside of the UK) and I've won quite a few times! Not once have I had a problem receiving my winnings.

But it says this on the National Lottery website

Can I play while overseas?

No, to play UK National Lottery games online, you must be a resident of the UK or Isle of Man at all times. You must also be physically located in the UK or Isle of Man when buying a ticket or when setting up or amending a Direct Debit Account, including changing your numbers and payment details.

If you do not meet these requirements, any ticket purchases you make will be declared invalid and no prizes paid, and we will have the right to reclaim any prizes already paid under these circumstances.