Help needed please for a new life in perth

davet19650

Hi to everyone down there in perth

having a bit of a dilemma as to our moving down there as to whether we can actually afford to do the big move.

what we are after is some honesty from as many of you already there or in the moving process as to your thoughts on whether we will suvive.

i myself are a painter and decorator by trade, we did our reccie and validation back in march, met up with quite a few people to find out the work situation, seems to be good, but working for a company will pay me roughly 30 to 35 bucks an hour, we are looking at renting which looks to be around the 350 a week, the wife wont be working to start with probably part time at something after a while so my wages will have to cover everything,

we will be looking a buying a car when we get there, this will be a cash purchase with what money we bring over. so with my earnings to cover rent, car insurance,utility bills,shopping etc and any things else that any body can think of will we be able to survive with out going under.

any help greatly appreciated with as many threads back as possible

cheers

Dave

We've not had to manage on one wage as we both work, but I know that Fiona who recently left PIO was the sole wage earner for a while and they managed, they were just realistic, bought an older car (so they still had some funds) and brought a new one this year.

Guest Ladyjady

I'm keen for honest feedback too- am looking at jobs circa $65- $70K, coming on my own with 2 kids aged 14 and 10. It's very scary to jack it all in for a better lifestyle to possibly be in a situation where I can't provide what the kids need at a difficult time for them. Any guidance gratefully received.....

Hi,