Working holiday to perm

outlawtorn

Hi all, I have been looking into moving to perth for some time now. I cant seem to find anyinfo or even if its possible to come over to australia on a working holiday visa find work and then apply for a perminent visa.

Can anyone shed any light or advise on doing this. I am a qualified electrician in the uk however have mainly worked in wiring controll panels/switchgear. Hoping to get something similar in oz but will take anything.

Is it likely if i fly over on this visa that i would end up being able to stay.

Thanx Dan.

Hi Dan,

My brother went to Oz on a working holiday visa, done some travelling around and then got a job.

The company he worked for offered him sponsorship as he was coming up to his 3 months employment. He has since recieved his PR but it has taken him around 4 years. Not 100% sure how this was done but he is still working for the same company.

I presume that someone on here will have more of a technical and detailed answer.

I came to Oz about 6 years ago on a WHV, managed to get a decent job and sponsored on a 457 (4 Year). After 3 years decided I was staying and applied and granted PR, bought a house and did my Citizenship.

I have about 5 friends who did the same and at least 20+ who tried and failed to stay over the years, the hardest bit is finding an employer willing to sponsor. Thats the Achilles heel of such a plan, most employers reckon its too much hassle to sponsor (it is more involved than it sounds) and some employers think employing someone on a WHV is too much hassle as well.

Also its worth pointing out that to work as an electrician or any type of mains work you need to have an electrical licence, this usually involves doing a course over about 12 weeks. You wont be able to work as an electrician without it but you will be able to work as a trade assistant.