register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Guest splashy

How long must i wait

Guest splashy

Hello all, i am new to all this so please bare with me and be patient.

My 176 skilled migrant visa application was lodged on the 02.04.10, i also have WA state sponsorship.

Does anyone know roughly how long it will be before i get a case officer assigned to me. I track the application and it tells me that all has been received but the meds checks are outstanding, i was told that i must wait for a case officer to request the med checks from me and not just to go ahead and get them done, do you know if this is correct and if so how long does it usually take to get a case officer assigned to my application.

hope to hear from someone soon

thanks a lot Dave

Hi Dave

Is your occupation on the new SOL Schedule 3? If so DIAC have advised that visa will be granted by end December 2011 and you will be priority 3. If your occupation is not on Schedule 3 then you are priority 4 and in for a long wait, they haven't given a time-line for Priority 4.

However, when the SMP's come out (state migration plans) as you have been sponsored by WA, let's hope your occupation is on the SMP then you will move to Priority 2 and I think DIAC have said that Priority 2 will be processed 12 months from date of lodgement.

The ASPC (Adelaide Skilled Processing Centre) who process online apps are currently dealing with the huge backlog and are assigning CO's (case officers) to those apps lodged Feb 2008 - April 2008 at the moment.

We lodged our app 07.05.10 so are a month behind you.

Good luck

Claire

Pete, Claire, Jaime & Maisie