Heading for Perth 18th April 2011 Electrician and Primary school teacher!!

Guest Jenks07

Guest Jenks07

Hi everyone,

My name is mark and me and my fiance sarah are emigrating to australia 18th of april 2011. We will be living and hopefully setting up home around the perth area. Im an electrician and sarah is a primary school teacher. Can anyone tell me how i go about getting my electrical license foe W.A? I have done vetassess and passed etc. Can i do anything whilst im still in the U.K?

Also i think sarah will have to do another year in uni, she is a primary school teacher and did a 3 year B ed course, is this correct?

And finally does anyone know how easy/hard it will be for us to find jobs and is it possible if your lucky to get a job before going?

Thank you!!!!

• 2 weeks later...

I did a 2 year BEd and my skills assessment for teaching was passed with no issue. I'd recommend you get your fiancee to do her skills assessment. One of my friends from Uni teaches in Perth and loves it and has found it really easy to slot in to teaching there. Good luck.

Hi Mark

We've been in Perth since the beginning of the year and my hubby is also a sparky. He applied for his ATRC whilst we were still in the UK. Once we arrived, he applied through Energy Safety to do a two week college course at TAFE. (There can be a bit of a wait to get onto the course)

Once he completed and passed the course, Energy Safety issued him with his A Grade License. He was lucky and was taken on as a tradie before he got his license, then upgraded to unrestriced once he got his license. He got work within a week of looking. They are crying out for sparkies in Perth, one of my hubbys mates that he sat the course with is away working in the mines at Yandi and making a fortune. I work or a mining company but its not for us at the moment!