Property Development.

Guest Steve/Beck

Guest Steve/Beck

I am a property developer and i am hoping to set up a new company when we get to OZ. Does anyone have any experience of this i.e how easy it is to buy land, get planning permission, architects, legal issues etc.

Please help.

Steve. :goofy:

I am a property developer and i am hoping to set up a new company when we get to OZ. Does anyone have any experience of this i.e how easy it is to buy land, get planning permission, architects, legal issues etc.

Please help.

Steve. :goofy:

Im not 100% mate tbh,all i will say is that yer need a license to blow yer nose in oz,my mates got a small bricklaying company in perth and had to do some kind of business course(which costs) to get his ABN for his firm,thats about all i'd say,wouldnt want to give duff info,but im sure its all manageable.

Guest brooksey

Easy to get land as there's loads of it.

You can easily obtain an owner builders licence(about $500 for course and licence online)

If you already have a trade licence (carpenter etc) you don't need to do the coarse just go down to the BSA and they will give you one.

You can only build 1 house every 6 years and 6 months before you get another owner builder licence.

Everyone whos name is on the land title is on the owner builders licence so buy one piece in your name and one in your oh name.

To build more you need a builders licence which is about $2,500 and 9 to 18 months depending on your comitment (again online)

The buying process is easy and fast.

For planning permission you need a certifierto get it through council and do the inspections (around $4,000 to $5,000 inc council charges)

An architect will cost you above $10,000. Use a draughtsman instead. same job for around $2,000.

I've built one house for myself and two others where the land owner has got an owner builders licence, and i have started getting my builders licence here in Queensland so all of above might be different in other states.