Bridging visa and student visa

Franklin

Hi guys,

This is my first post. I have a question, I am holding bridging visa A which has unlimited work and study rights in Australia. But do I need to apply student visa in order to study?

I mean, if I am studying on Bridging visa A now and let's say for instance my PR application is refused. Am I still able to finish my study? Probably the answer is no, because I must leave Australia within 28 days. But at the same time, we allow only hold one visa at one time. Does it mean we have to bridge commitment to finish the study with the education institute?

thanks a lot in advance

Cheers

Guest yuan84dk

Well, IMHO, even if your application for permanent residency is refused (not likely, normally they let you wait for ages), you can still apply for a student visa within the 28 day period. Take your COE along with your ID documents to the immigration office and they'll issue a new bridging visa almost instantly.

• 1 month later...
Well, IMHO, even if your application for permanent residency is refused (not likely, normally they let you wait for ages), you can still apply for a student visa within the 28 day period. Take your COE along with your ID documents to the immigration office and they'll issue a new bridging visa almost instantly.

I actually have the same question as Franklin does.

So...we do not have to leave Australia and then apply the student visa from whatever country you are from?

Franklin, what is your latest news about your issue?

Hi guys,

This is my first post. I have a question, I am holding bridging visa A which has unlimited work and study rights in Australia. But do I need to apply student visa in order to study?