Registered Nurse - To lodge 176 SS or wait

the mooz

Hi

I am a Registered Nurse with 23 years experience, 19 yrs on the wards and 4 years as a Community Palliative Care Nurse (same as a MacMillan nurse).

My problem is that I don't have IELTS.

I have a positive Skills Assessment from the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council and Registration with QNC. I managed to avoid the IELTS by applying for these before it became compulsory last year.

I applied for Queensland SS which was granted in April 2010. However, hubby didn't get the 176 paperwork sorted out before the May 7th GSM suspension.

Now QLD want IELTS for SMP sponsorship.

My question is do I lodge a 176 with SS and in the meantime get IELTS, QLD SMP and send them on to DIAC when I recive them or do I wait for QLD to publish the SMP, apply then lodge a 176 SMP.

(The old ASCO code correlates to any of the new ANZSCO nursing codes)

My fear is that I could fail the IELTS and God knows how many times I might have to resit it, delaying lodgement of 176 if I wait to get SMP first. Also the delay in submitting a 176 could mean the revised points test could hit me if takes a number of resits for IELTS (age 43 and the possibility of less points for my age).

Your help - Please !

Mrs Moo

Hi

I am a Registered Nurse with 23 years experience, 19 yrs on the wards and 4 years as a Community Palliative Care Nurse (same as a MacMillan nurse).

My problem is that I don't have IELTS.

I have a positive Skills Assessment from the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Council and Registration with QNC. I managed to avoid the IELTS by applying for these before it became compulsory last year.

I applied for Queensland SS which was granted in April 2010. However, hubby didn't get the 176 paperwork sorted out before the May 7th GSM suspension.

Now QLD want IELTS for SMP sponsorship.